Texas is quantity two on the list of states with the highest amount of licensed drivers. With more than 17 million drivers on the roads in the state, Texas has a quantity of strict laws in place to aid keep its roads and its citizens protected. For starters, Texas drivers should carry minimum liability car insurance coverage on every single automobile owned. According to autoinsurancetips.com, the minimum liability coverage quantities required by Texas Law are $ 25,000 for bodily injury or death to 1 individual per accident, $ 50,000 for bodily injury or death to two or far more persons per accident, and $ 25,000 for harm or destruction to other property in an accident (25/50/25). Failure to offer proof of insurance coverage in the state of Texas can price up to $ 350 in fines and license suspension of up to 1 year.
In addition to strict vehicle insurance laws, Texas has even stricter DUI laws. All it will take is a BAC (blood alcohol concentration level) of .08% to be convicted of DUI in the state of Texas. On leading of this, state DUI laws do not allow for special treatment for initial offenses. No matter whether it is the very first or third offense, all Texas DUI offenders have to invest time in jail and spend anyplace from $ two,000-$ ten,000 in fines. License suspension periods array from 90 days up to 2 many years.
Texas teen drivers have their own set of laws when it comes to DUIs and acquiring a license. Texas has a zero tolerance policy for teen drinking and driving. Any teen caught driving with a BAC of .02% will lose his license on the spot. Jail time is typical as effectively. The state of Texas does not quit there. Texas has particular ordinances in spot known as “social hosting ordinances,” that enable the state to prosecute any individual that sells to or furnishes a minor with alcohol. Many other states have the same ordinances in spot, but the state of Texas is the only state that strictly enforces this ordinance, so beware.
Thankfully, most Texas teens won’t jeopardize their licenses for a couple of sips of beer and a joy ride. Right after all, it requires a number of many years to receive an unrestricted license below Texas’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Plan. Texas teens need to complete a number of phases of driving instruction, preserve a clean driving record, and attain the age of 18 before obtaining an unrestricted license. To start the approach, Texas teens must be at least 15 years of age.
In the state of Texas, most teens do not make it by means of the Division of Motor Vehicle’s challenging GDL. As a outcome, teen drivers make up only a little percentage of the millions of driver on Texas’s roads. In addition, Texas’s Graduated Driver Licensing program has helped reduce the amount of teen crashes more than the past 7. Among 2002 and 2009, fatal teen car crashes declined by a whopping 32.5%.
For more info about Texas Driving laws, Texas driving statistics, and much more, please go to:
Texas Auto Insurance - Vehicle Insurance Suggestions
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_handle/dlindex.htm – Texas Department of Public Safety
State Minimal Auto Insurance coverage Coverage: 4 Factors You Really should NOT Only Carry the Minimal Needed Coverage – Automobile Insurance Guidelines